xwallpaper.png
IMG_7534_Facetune_14-10-2021-17-46-06.jpg
element12.png

Pourquoi se lever?

«Je n'élève pas la voix pour crier, mais pour que ceux qui n'ont pas de voix puissent être entendus. Nous ne pouvons pas réussir lorsque la moitié d'entre nous sont retenus.

- Malala Yousafzai

 

L'histoire d'Anna commence alors qu'elle vivait son rêve de galeriste réputée dans la petite ville côtière de Port Townsend, WA. À la fin de 2011, elle a pris conscience d'un homme qui la harcelait. Presque immédiatement, sa vie et ses affaires ont commencé à se désagréger, et avec le temps, l'épuisement psychologique et la peur de la sécurité dans la vie réelle sont devenus trop importants.

En 2013, Anna a dû prendre la décision cruelle de fermer la galerie. Elle a juré qu'elle ne posséderait plus jamais une autre entreprise alors qu'elle regardait ses piles de dettes. En 2015, traumatisé, terrifié et humilié par l'expérience; couplée à la perte de son père, elle s'est échappée tranquillement dans les collines du Vermont.

C'est là qu'elle a trouvé sécurité, soutien et guérison en travaillant avec des thérapeutes et une agence de services aux victimes à Washington et au Vermont. Elle admirait son équipe de soutien et avait envie de se lancer dans le domaine des services aux victimes. Voulant être un catalyseur du changement, Anna a décidé de proposer sa conception graphique et Web pour les agences de services aux victimes.

  

Anna a rapidement découvert que si ses compétences en design étaient utiles, son histoire était nécessaire.

Elle était l'une des rares personnes à avoir pu avancer et partager en toute sécurité l'expérience déchirante d'être traquée pendant une décennie. Avec l'aide du système de justice pénale et des poursuites, Anna a réussi à clore son dossier et son harceleur a été emprisonné, recevant l'une des peines les plus longues (10 ans) de l'histoire de notre pays. Son histoire n'avait plus besoin d'être cachée dans l'ombre; elle pouvait parler, avec force, clarté et captivation pour aider les autres à se libérer du harcèlement.

Stand Up Resources (SUR) est né de la perte et du traumatisme les plus profonds; et au cœur de sa mission est de servir les fournisseurs de services aux victimes et les premiers intervenants en offrant l'expertise et les meilleures pratiques pour lutter contre le crime de harcèlement criminel par une approche centrée sur la victime.

Les présentations d'Anna se concentrent sur la prestation d'une formation et d'une éducation professionnelles, centrées sur la victime et de niveau expert sur le thème du harcèlement. Son histoire a atteint des milliers de personnes, créant une plate-forme pour la sensibilisation, les poursuites et la prévention.


SUR et Anna sont devenues une voix internationalement reconnue - avec un seul objectif, créer un monde plus sûr et plus juste sans harcèlement.

Une histoire brève:

2011

Owner of Artisans on Taylor Gallery in Port Townsend, WA

Anna Nasset at AOT

2015

Last photo of my family together before my sweet father passed.

Anna Nasset and family

2016

Hiding in the shadows and making ends meet.

Anna Nasset at Tucker Hill

January 2019

Vermont Governor Scott signs National Stalking Awareness Proclamation.  

Anna Nasset and Governor Scott

August 2019

Speaking to a full capacity room at NOVA.

Anna at NOVA

September 2019

Celebrating my new "decade of freedom" after the sentencing hearing. 

Anna Nasset after sentencing
IMG_7515_Facetune_14-10-2021-13-43-17.jpg

Anna vit dans les montagnes vertes du Vermont avec son chihuahua à 3 pattes, Dolly Parton, et sa collection de lunettes de soleil blanches. Alors qu'elle manque son ancienne «maison» à Port Townsend, WA, elle est venue pour trouver une maison nichée dans les collines, entourée de neige 6 mois de l'année. Comme une typique du Vermont, Anna porte de nombreux chapeaux. En plus de son travail avec le SUP, vous pouvez la trouver en train d'aider au restaurant d'un ami, en faisant du ski de fond, assise au bord de la rivière ou cachée dans un coin en écrivant au Mad Taco ou à Stoke Ramen.  

Elle apprécie le calme de vivre au Vermont pour écrire, travailler, concevoir, puis prendre l'avion pour parler et éduquer les autres. C'était un équilibre dont elle n'avait jamais su qu'elle avait besoin, ou qu'elle aurait pu avoir, et ne pouvait pas être plus heureuse de l'avoir découvert et de le vivre chaque jour.

annaname.png
element6.png

xwallpaper.png
IMG_7534_Facetune_14-10-2021-17-46-06.jpg
element12.png

Why Stand Up?

"I raise up my voice not so I can shout, but so that those without a voice can be heard. We cannot succeed when half of us are held back."

                                                                                           - Malala Yousafzai

 

Anna’s story begins as she was living her dream as a well-regarded gallery owner in the small coastal town of Port Townsend, WA. In late 2011 she became aware of man that was stalking her. Almost immediately, her life and business began to unravel, and as time wore on the psychological drain and real-life fear for safety became too much.

 

In 2013, Anna had to make the gutting decision to close the gallery. She swore she would never own another business again as she stared at her piles of debt. In 2015, traumatized, terrified and humiliated from the experience; coupled with the loss of her father, she quietly escaped to the hills of Vermont. 

It was there that she found safety, support, and healing by working with therapists and a victim services agency in Washington and Vermont. She admired her support team and felt herself longing to move into the field of victim services. Wanting to be a catalyst for change, Anna decided to offer her graphic and web design for victim service agencies.

  

Anna quickly discovered that while her design skills were useful, her story was necessary.  

She was one of very few people who were able to step forward and safely share the harrowing experience of being stalked for a decade. With help of the criminal justice system and prosecution, Anna successfully closed her case and her stalker was imprisoned receiving one of the longest sentences (10 years) in our nations history. Her story no longer needed to be tucked into the shadows; she could speak, strongly, clearly and with captivation to help others find freedom from stalking.

Stand Up Resources (SUR) has grown out of the deepest loss and trauma; and at the heart it’s mission is to serve victim service providers, first responders, the military, and universities by offering expertise in the areas of stalking, sexual assault, suicide prevention, bystander prevention, and best practices. 

Anna’s presentations focus on delivering professional, victim centered, expert level training and education. Her story has reached thousands of people, creating a platform for stalking and sexual assault awareness, prosecution and prevention. 


 

SUR and Anna have turned into an internationally recognized voice – with one goal, creating a safer and more just world free of stalking.

A brief history:

2011

Owner of Artisans on Taylor Gallery in Port Townsend, WA

Anna Nasset at AOT

2015

Last photo of my family together before my sweet father passed.

Anna Nasset and family

2016

Hiding in the shadows and making ends meet.

Anna Nasset at Tucker Hill

January 2019

Vermont Governor Scott signs National Stalking Awareness Proclamation.  

Anna Nasset and Governor Scott

August 2019

Speaking to a full capacity room at NOVA.

Anna at NOVA

September 2019

Celebrating my new "decade of freedom" after the sentencing hearing. 

Anna Nasset after sentencing
IMG_7515_Facetune_14-10-2021-13-43-17.jpg

Anna lives in the Green Mountains of Vermont with her 3-legged chihuahua, Dolly Parton, and collection of white sunglasses.  While she misses her old “home” in Port Townsend, WA, she has come to find home being nestled in the hills, surrounded by snow 6 months of the year. Like a typical Vermonter, Anna wears many hats. In addition to her work with SUP, you may find her helping out at a friend's restaurant, cross-country skiing, sitting by the river, or tucked away in a corner writing at the Mad Taco.

She appreciates having the quiet balance of living in Vermont to write, work, design and then popping on a plane to speak and educate others.  It was a balance she never knew she needed, or could have, and couldn’t be happier to have discovered it and live it every day.

annaname.png
element6.png